-College News

10th Anniversary of School Founding was Held in Di...

 BUAA News May 15th (correspondent Tian Yuan/ Text Liao Xing/ photo) In the morning of May 15th, 10th anniversary of the founding of Sino-French Engineer School was held in Diaoyutai State Guesthouse. Vice President Liu Yandong, Foreign Minister of France, Laurent Fabius awarded the outstanding administrators who have contributed a lot to the school in the past 10 years, excellent teachers, and outstanding graduates of all previous sessions. President of BUAA, Academician Xu Huibin, and Vice President Zhang Guangjun attended the meeting and witnessed the award ceremony. Principals of both sides and 30 student representatives of Sino-French Engineer School attended the ceremony as well.

The ceremony was held on the occasion of Sino-French High-grade Cultural and Educational Exchanges and was opened by 2 hosts of CCTV French Channel. At first, the host introduced Sino-French Engineer School of BUAA to all the present guests: under the support of Chinese and French governments, Sino-French Engineer School was established jointly by BUAA and Groupe des Ecoles Centrales in 2005. As a model of Sino-French education cooperation and on the occasion of the 10th year of school founding, Sino-French Engineer School has cultivated 4 sessions of 300 excellent graduates with the title “French General Engineer”, and some of them have become inter-disciplinary talents with thoroughly understanding of international rules, specialized knowledge, fluent French speaking and international competition participation.

Later on, Vice President Liu Yandong awarded prize to French winners and excellent graduates, Foreign Minister of France, Laurent Fabius gave awards to Chinese winners and excellent graduates. President of BUAA, Academician Xu Huibin, and Vice President Zhang Guangjun accompanied the two leaders. The winners were: Professor Zheng Zhiming, first Chinese president of Sino-French Engineer School, Mark Zhou, first French Vice president of Sino-French Engineer School, Chinese teacher Professor Li Lin, French teacher Professor Anna, and excellent graduates—Guo Tianpeng, Hu Zhiheng of Session 2011, Wang Jiaoyang of Session 2012, Li Tianyun of Session 2013, and Lu Tianxiang, Zhang Yihui of Session 2014.